Notable Alumni

  • The first high school in the Kenmore-Town of Tonawanda School District, and one of the earliest suburban high schools in Western New York, was Kenmore High School which opened in 1911. From 1924 to 1940, our graduates were educated at Kenmore Junior/Senior High School at 155 Delaware Road. In 1940, Kenmore Senior High School opened at 33 Highland Parkway. In 1959, Kenmore East High School opened its doors, and Kenmore Senior High School became Kenmore West.

    Since 1911, the tens of thousands of alumni of the Ken-Ton School District include countless individuals who have achieved the highest levels of success in their careers, from professional athletes, actors, comedians, and musicians to business leaders, doctors, engineers, public officials, and educators. Distinguished alunmni include:

    News & Broadcasting

    • Wolf Blitzer (CNN)
    • Jeff Glor (CBS Evening News)
    • Gary McNamara, syndicated talk show host ("Red Eye Radio")
    • Tom Bauerle (WBEN)

    Science & Space Exploration

    • Edward Gibson, Skylab astronaut and former record-holder for longest time in space
    • James Oberg, author and Soviet space expert
    • Mark Hibbs, Senior Fellow, Carnegie Nuclear Policy Program

    Public Officials

    • Frank H. Easterbrook, Judge and former Chief Judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
    • Andrew SanFilippo, NYS Deputy Comptroller
    • Beth Krom, two-term mayor of Irvine, CA

    • Norman Joslin, NYS Supreme Court Judge
    • John Beaumont, former Mayor, Village of Kenmore
    • Carl Calabrese, former Town of Tonawanda Supervisor, Former Deputy Erie County Executive

    Business & Industry Leaders

    • Jon L. Luther, former CEO of Dunkin' Brands
    • Dan’l Lewin, former Corporate Vice President of Microsoft Corp.; President/CEO of the Computer History Museum
    • Robert Engel, President and CEO, COBANK, Denver, Colorado (retired)
    • Mary Lynn Dobmeier Lenz, President and CEO, Professional Business Bank
    • Duane Paddock, owner, Paddock Chevrolet; local philanthropist

    Journalists & Authors

    • Gregg Easterbrook, author and journalist
    • David Levinthal, Federal Politics Editor and Senior Reporter at the Center for Public Integrity in Washington, D.C.
    • Geoffrey Gatza, editor, publisher, and award-winning poet

    Art, Music, Film & Comedy

    • Billy Sheehan, rock bass guitar player (known for his work with Talas, David Lee Roth and Mr. Big to name a few)
    • Paul Vogt, actor and comedian
    • Zach Anner, stand-up comedian
    • Members of Green Jelly, musicians and theatrical group
    • Jeff Czum, guitarist with Cute Is What We Aim For
    • Bob Smith, comedian and author
    • Brian Johnson, actor, appeared on Broadway in "Spring Awakening" and "American Idiot"
    • Michael Sisti, actor, Romeo in "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles"
    • Film producer Andrew Miano
    • Mark Freeland, avant garde punk guitarist/artist

    Sports & Entertainment

    • Keith Franke/Adrian Adonis, former undisputed World Wrestling Champion
    • Barry Smith, NHL Coach with 6 Stanley Cup rings
    • Sue Falzone, first female head athletic trainer in any major sport (LA Dodgers)
    • William Munson,  Executive Vice President, Buffalo Bills (retired) (longest tenured administrator in the NFL at time of retirement)
    • Dan McFall, retired NHL player
    • Cal Kern, owner, Niagara Power
    • Jim Overfield, author of the upcoming Bisons history "Seasons of Buffalo Baseball"

    Education Leaders

    • Neal Smatresk, President, University of North Texas, Denton
    • Judy Elliot, Chief Academic Officer, Los Angeles Unified School District, (retired); former governor-appointed Distinguished Educator to Buffalo Public Schools
    • Donald Ogilvie, Superintendent Erie 1 BOCES; former Interim Superintendent, Buffalo Public Schools


    • Ted Lownie, Architect (renovation/restoration projects included the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo City Hall, Roycroft Inn, Kleinhan’s Music Hall, and Darwin D. Martin House)
    • Daniel J Starks, President and CEO, St. Jude Hospital (retired)
    • Dr. Deborah Myers, Vice Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Brown University; Past President, American Urogynecologic Society
Last Modified on February 5, 2024