Return to Headlines

Student Artists, Art Teachers & Board Members Honored at 2017 Artist Reception

Student artists  

From left, Oliver Aviles, Gianna Sperrazza, Madison Waschensky, Kelsey Wood, Tessa Mihelbergel, Morgan Martin, Adrien Collins, and Kosavare Rexhepi. Missing from photo: Alexis Johnson.

Every year, the Ken-Ton School District holds a special event that recognizes the importance of art education while at the same time thanking Board of Education members for their service.

The annual Student Artist Reception and Board of Education Recognition was held on October 24 with one student from each school in the Ken-Ton School District recognized alongside their teachers for artwork they’ve created. These works of art are framed and put on display in the community room at the Philip Sheridan Building.

Students recognized were:

  • Oliver Aviles, Kenmore West 11th grader, “Individuality” (teacher: Amy Veltri)
  • Gianna Sperrazza, Hoover Elementary third grader, “Untitled” (teacher: Jennifer Lynch)
  • Madison Waschensky, Holmes Elementary 2nd grader, “Pegasus Kitty” (teacher: Diane Schaefer)
  • Kelsey Wood, Kenmore East 11th grader, “Forward” (teacher: Matthew Sagurney)
  • Tessa Mihelbergel, Franklin Middle sixth grader, “Lynx” (teacher: Lisa Mihelbergel)
  • Morgan Martin, Edison Elementary first grader, “Summer Seascape” (teacher: Wendy Yiengst)
  • Adrien Collins, Hoover Middle fifth grader, “Still Life with Flowers and Necklace” (teacher: Jamie Kubala)
  • Kosavare Rexhepi, Franklin Elementary fourth grader, “Untitled” (teacher: Lisa Mihelbergel)
  • Alexis Johnson, Lindbergh Elementary fourth grader, “Untitled” (teacher: Lavinia Kirdani)

The event coincides with New York State School Boards Association School Board Recognition Week which is observed throughout New York State to reflect on and thank Board of Education members for their service. In Ken-Ton, the school district is governed by five trustees who donate their time to serve the students of the district: Dr. Jill O’Malley, president; Andrew Gianni, vice president; Trustee Christine Cavarello, Trustee Thomas Reigstad, and Trustee Michelle Tarbox.

Each year, the superintendent selects one of the student’s works and framed copies are presented to each of the board members as a token of gratitude for their service. This year’s selection was Morgan Martin’s painting “Summer Seascape.”