Hoover History

  • On October 10, 1951 the Herbert Hoover School was dedicated by the former President of the United States, Herbert Hoover. At the time he was the only surviving former U.S. President.

    Herbert Hoover was born on August 10, 1874 in West Branch, Iowa. He served as Secretary of Commerce under Warren G. Harding in 1921. In 1928 he was elected as the 31st President of the United States. Due to the beginning of the Great Depression he lost the Presidency in 1932 to Franklin Delano Roosevelt.

    In 1951 Herbert Hoover School as it was called was a Kindergarten through sixth grade building. The first Principal was named Gordon A. Hague. The entire school was in attendance for the dedication along with many noteable members of the Kenmore and Town of Tonawanda community. 

    In time, the Hoover School would be split into two buildings, Hoover Middle(6-8) and Hoover Elementary(K-5). In the 1970’s the Kenmore District grew and grew. By the late 1980’s and early 1990’s Hoover Elementary was beyond capacity and needed classrooms in the Middle School. This was to be a 3 to 5 year plan. More than 25 years later 4th and 5th grades were still housed on the 3rd floor of the Middle School.

    In May 1993, Hoover Elementary would be recognized by the 42nd President of the United States, William Clinton, as a National School of Excellence. Herbert Hoover Elementary had people in attendance at the Awards Ceremony in Washington DC, Former Principal, Michael Giallombardo, Principal Frances Paskowitz, and teacher, Toni Sciog.

    By 2016 enrolment in the Kenmore-Tonawanda School District was declining. Herbert Hoover Elementary and Herbert Hoover Middle would need to re-configured yet again. Herbert Hoover Elementary become a Kindergarten through 4th Grade and Hoover Middle became a 5th Grade through 7th building.

    The Hoover Complex will be celebrating 70 years in 2021!