Return to Headlines

District Staff & Board Members Honored by Regional Organizations

The Ken-Ton School District was proud to learn that several members of the district staff and Board of Education will be recognized by two regional organizations that play a key role in supporting school districts in WNY.

Superintendent Sabatino Cimato, Director of Facilities Tim Ames, Kenmore West Technology Teacher Kevin Day, and Franklin Cook Manager Maria Marano will all receive the WNY Educational Service Council (WNYESC) Award of Excellence. Additionally, Superintendent Cimato and the Board of Education will be awarded the Erie County Association of School Boards (ECASB) Diana R. Miller Service to Education Award. This is the first time an entire Board of Education and Superintendent has received this honor.

Superintendent Cimato

Superintendent Sabatino Cimato will receive the WNYESC Award of Excellence in the Superintendent Category. Mr. Cimato has served as Superintendent of Schools since July 2020. He was celebrated for guiding the district through the COVID-19 pandemic and numerous initiatives implemented under his leadership which have had an extremely positive impact on students, families, and the community. This includes a new Office of School Culture, enhanced security, new secondary programming, and the student-run District Leadership Council. Under Mr. Cimato's leadership, the district significantly expanded its Universal Pre-Kindergarten Program and created one of the region's first full-day UPK Programs while also reopening Hamilton Elementary School, which closed in 2016, to house it. The district also expanded its tremendously successful Big Picture Program and secured a BEDS code for the former Kenmore Middle School (now officially reopened as Kenmore Junior/Senior High), which had also closed in 2016. Mr. Cimato was also celebrated for the extremely close connections he has fostered with students, staff, and families.

Tim Ames

Tim Ames, Director of Facilities, will receive the WNYESC Award of Excellence in the Administrator Category. Tim oversees our Buildings & Grounds Department, which encompasses more than 100 personnel who are responsible for maintaining 98 acres of land and 17 buildings with more than 2 million square feet of building space to keep clean and safe. Tim also plays an integral role in all ongoing construction work taking place throughout the district, making sure it is always done right. Tim was celebrated for his outstanding leadership over the department and the fantastic job he and his team did during the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as the many large-scale projects his team has been responsible for such as the reopening of Hamilton Elementary in 2021. He was also celebrated for his willingness to take on any task, including many that would normally be carried out by outside companies, saving the district significant money.

Kevin Day

Kevin Day, Technology Teacher and Technology Department Chair at Kenmore West High School, will receive the WNYESC Award of Excellence in the Teacher Category. Mr. Day, who will be retiring at the end of this year, is an integral part of Kenmore West’s Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Pre-Engineering Program and the Pre-Engineering Academy, a NYS-certified two-year Career & Technical Education (CTE) program. Mr. Day was celebrated for his work developing the Kenmore West Technology Program into what it is today and the wide variety of projects he engages in for students and the community. He was also celebrated as an outstanding educator who excels at earning the respect of his students and for the nearly two decades he spent as a Kenmore West wrestling coach, making it one of the most successful programs in WNY.

Maria Marano

Maria Marano, Cook Manager at Franklin Elementary and Middle School, will receive the WNYESC Award of Excellence in the Support Staff Category. Maria has worked for the district for 30 years, first as a Food Service Helper and, since 2008, as a Cook Manager in charge of all food service operations in her building. She was celebrated for the outstanding job she does leading her staff and overseeing breakfast/lunch at both schools, which is an enormous undertaking. The quality of Franklin's food service operation is demonstrated by the fact that approximately 80% of students take part in the school's lunch program. Maria was also celebrated for the way she goes above and beyond giving students a fun, positive experience during lunch and working with students to offer new options which they can enjoy.

WNYESC is a non-profit organization that supports school districts throughout the region. The purpose of the Awards of Excellence program is to honor school staff and leaders who make a difference for students, have a track record of amazing leadership, go above and beyond in their job duties, and demonstrate excellent personal characteristics that make them a role model for students. Mr. Cimato, Mr. Ames, Mr. Day, and Ms. Marano will be honored at the WNYESC Awards Banquet on April 24th.

Board of Education

Additionally, Superintendent Sabatino Cimato and all five members of the Ken-Ton School District Board of Education (President Matthew Chimera, Vice President Todd Marquardt, Trustee Paul Spors, Trustee Karen Whitelaw, and Trustee Lee Ann Vogt) will be awarded the Erie County Association of School Boards (ECASB) Diana R. Miller Service to Education Award. To see all five Board of Education members and Superintendent recognized with this award, and the fact that they are the first full Board of Education and Superintendent to be honored in such a way, is a tremendous honor for the Ken-Ton School District.

ECASB is an organization that provides direct support for school boards throughout Erie County. The Diana R. Miller Service to Education Award was established in 1981 and given in honor of the late Diana Miller, a longtime school board member in the Lancaster Central School District who also served as ECASB President. The award is given to individuals who have contributed to the betterment of education and assisted ECASB in its mission of supporting school districts and boards of education in Erie County. Superintendent Cimato and the Board of Education will be honored at the ECASB Awards Dinner in June.